Coach Pete

Expert advice for Swimmers, Triathletes, and Coaches

January is half over….how are your resolutions going????????

I know that many of you have made some sort of resolution to do this or that in the new year, I have made a resolution to be a better person and to get into better shape. I had guests with us for the holidays and we indulged in enough food and wine to bring my weight up, so now I have to get over to the rec center and work it off. I have involved myself into church activities and am chairing the Respect Life Committee  to help fight the opposition of the Freedom of Choice Act that Congress will present to our new President. So that’s where I am at, where are you at? Did you resolve to be a better swimmer, a better athlete, a better student , a.better person ?

You can do all of these things! You have to have the will and desire to achieve all of these resolutions!

When I was coaching the Team Weston Swim Team we had a little cheer that we would chant before each meet, it went like this

WHAT DO WE DO?-WORK, HOW DO WE WORK?-HARD

WHAT DO WE DO?-SWIM, HOW DO WE SWIM?-FAST

WORK HARD,SWIM FAST,WORK HARD SWIM FAST!”

Here is  way you can be a better Leader:

Ten Key Points to Leadership

L – Lead with convection, have a backbone, lead with substance, lead by example.
E- educate, journey into the truth
A- Attitude, refuse to be beaten
D- Discipline you must have this or fail
E- Empower you people with grace
R- Receive and Respect input, then you make the decision
S- Sacrifice
H- Humility v. Pride this is the battle Humility is the     acknowledgement of truth.
I- Incentive, “Carpe Diem”( cease the day)
P- Plan, Prepare and Practice

 

 bridge350pixel

January 15, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment